Remote control?

Submit your proposals and ideas here.
Necro
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2020 7:02 pm

Re: Remote control?

Post by Necro » Sat Dec 26, 2020 12:11 pm

^^^
Yes you are right, but there are some cases where this is not possible. For example, I have a xiaomi m9t pro which have no SD card reader (as many high level smartphone, because brand choices), but my music is in 1tb SD Card!! In this case your are not able to use the smartphone as renderer. Yes you can change the smartphone as well... :)

blaubär
Posts: 3394
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2019 6:48 am

Re: Remote control?

Post by blaubär » Sat Dec 26, 2020 1:44 pm

You can set up a media server which hosts the data, then use the smartphone (without SD card) as renderer.

rossani
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2020 9:40 am

Re: Remote control?

Post by rossani » Sat Dec 26, 2020 5:09 pm

I don't doubt that is correct, but I have many Gb's of tracks and it takes Neutron a long time to refresh the media library, whereas it's a much quicker task for the PC and then to run the renderer from there

Caelin1
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2019 8:41 pm
Location: United States

Re: Remote control?

Post by Caelin1 » Thu Dec 31, 2020 7:07 am

New idea for remote control:
Windows computers and Android phones have the capability of linking together. As I type this post, I am using my laptop's keybaord to type on my Android phone.

Android > notification center (or settings) > Link to Windows PC > go on your laptop and open "Your Phone". You may need to download the app. Open, then accept all the permissions and such, then click (or touch) the 3 lines at the top of the PC app, then the phone screen (Open Phone Screen, will be a pic of your wallpaper).

From here, you can control everything on the phone. This includes Neutron!

Oh the power of Android's 😍
Attachments
Note the three lines at top, wallpaper of phone
Note the three lines at top, wallpaper of phone
The 'Your Phone' app.jpg (6.36 KiB) Viewed 4440 times

theSplund
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2020 5:20 pm

Re: Remote control?

Post by theSplund » Thu Oct 12, 2023 10:02 am

For reference/suggestion etc: the FiiO player has the abiltiy to be remotely controlled with its 'Fiio Link' - here's a review:
https://porta-fi.com/fiio-link-a-first-look/

PenguinMusic
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2023 3:33 pm

Re: Remote control?

Post by PenguinMusic » Sun May 19, 2024 6:10 am

Hi,
Add me to the list of people looking for this feature.
In other words, I would like to use Neutron as a "media server".

So the plan is :
- Install Neutron on a device and create a music library with music files stored locally ;
- Install Neutron player on another "remote device" and from the remote device be able to browse through that library ;
- From the remote device, play the tracks from the local player TO the same local player (or any other player).

Of course, I know it can more or less be done...
But that is only "more or less".
Why ?
Because I have to create a library and that takes time :-(
A LOT of time especially if you do it over FTP.
That takes AGES !

And if you have music stored on 2 different places, you can share over Neutron only ibn one location...

Which quite limiting factor :-(

So yes, indeed, an app that would allow to remote control Neutron would be something superb...

Regards.

PenguinMusic
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2023 3:33 pm

Re: Remote control?

Post by PenguinMusic » Sun May 19, 2024 6:17 am

theSplund wrote:
Thu Oct 12, 2023 10:02 am
For reference/suggestion etc: the FiiO player has the abiltiy to be remotely controlled with its 'Fiio Link' - here's a review:
https://porta-fi.com/fiio-link-a-first-look/
Hi,

Sure, but that function has several problems (I own the Fiio R7 so I tell from experience).

1°) it does not work over LAN, only with WAN. So, if you're device is connected with a wire, you're screwed... You have to enable Wi-Fi just for that purpose and even then ;-(

2°) As soon as you do something else and puty the app in the background, the link to the device is lost and you have to reconnect... hoping the device will be discovered immediatly (which in most cases won't be the case).

So any other remote desktop app would do better.
Anydesk would be nice but it suffers from a limitation on Android where you can't connect automatically. You have to accept connection on the remote device if it is on Android :-(

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 12 guests